North East rugby league shines at awards

North East rugby league shines at awards

8th September 2017

Members of the North East rugby league community assembled at Kingston Park Stadium this evening (Friday 8 September) as Newcastle Thunder’s home ground played host to the annual North East Rugby League end of season awards.

An opportunity for all clubs in the region to celebrate another successful year, the night saw a total of 10 awards recognise the efforts of people from across the game.

Talented young players from the U12s to U16s were among the on field awards, while there was also recognition bestowed upon match officials, coaches and volunteers who all combine to ensure games take place and the sport continues to grow in the area.

The headline awards saw Wallsend Eagles Stephen Bradley named Men’s Coach of the Year while Jarrow Vikings Derick Worthington walked away as Player of the Year.

Reflecting on the evening, Newcastle Thunder club manager Jordan Robinson said: “It was a pleasure to host the North East Rugby League awards evening at Kingston Park and recognise all that is good about the sport in the region.

“It was great to see so many people from the community game come together and make what was an enjoyable night.”

2017 North East Rugby League awards - nominees and winners


Spirit of the Community Award

Jen & Baz Egglestone (Durham Tigers) -WINNER

Michelle Scott (Whitley Bay Barbarians)

Chloe Bell (Gateshead Storm)


Referee Of The Year


Adam Houston

Gavin Houston - WINNER

Jordan Robinson


Volunteer Of The Year


Steve Lamb (Cramlington Rockets)

Goeff & Michelle Hurst (Gateshead Storm)

Rob Jones (Gateshead Storm)

Toby Bell (Whitley Bay Barbarians)

Emma Smith (Catterick Crusaders) -WINNER

Helen Taylor (Peterlee Pumas)


Junior Coach Of The Year


Alan Stevenson (Wallsend Eagles U16’s)

Christian Button (Catterick Crusaders U12’s)

Jordan Robinson (Cramlington Rockets U16’s Black)

Phil Shaw (Yarm Woves U14’s)

Ieuan Bodman (Gateshead Storm U14’s) -WINNER

Sharon McCoy (Whitley Bay Barbarians)


Men’s Coach Of The Year


Stephen Bradley (Wallsend Eagles) - WINNER

George Taylor (Jarrow Vikings)

Dave Townend (Cramlington Rockets)

Jason Grant (Catterick Crusaders)


Young Player Of The Year


Jared Poole (Catterick Crusaders)

James McGurk (Jarrow Vikings) - WINNER

Jack Redfern (Cramlington Rockets)

James Cook (Durham Demons)

Alex Coxon (Peterlee Pumas)


Player Of The Year


Louis Platt (Cramlington Rockets)

Derick Worthington (Jarrow Vikings) - WINNER

Neil Emmerson (Gateshead Storm)

Marc Willey (Durham Demons)

Austin Phillips (Wallsend Eagles)



U12’s Player Of The Year


Joe Dunham (Cramlington Rockets)

Bryce Dixon (Whitley Bar Barbarians) -WINNER

Finlay Wilkinson (Cramlington Rockets)

Xander Connelly (Catterick Crusaders)

Lewis Urwin (Gateshead Storm)


U14’s Player Of The Year


Dan O'Rielly (Catterick Crusaders)

Elliot Shaw (Yarm Wolves) – JOINT WINNER

Jake Anderson (Gateshead Storm) -JOINT WINNER

Cameron Young (Whitley Bay Barbarians)

Tyler Hepple (Gateshead Storm)


U16 Player Of The Year


Tyler Walton (Wallsend Eagles)

Will Todd (Durham Tigers)

Nathan Clemmitt (Cramlington Rockets)

Rupart Civil (Catterick Crusaders)

Alex Donaghy (Cramlington Rockets) -WINNER

Matthew Hurst (Gateahead Storm)

North East rugby league shines at awards