North East Rugby League Awards Night Shortlists Revealed

North East Rugby League Awards Night Shortlists Revealed

2nd August 2017

The voting for the 2017 NERL awards have now closed and the following shortlists have been announced.


The awards night will be held at Kingston Park on Friday 8th September at 18:30 and will include a three course meal. Please speak to your community club about booking on one of the club tables.



Spirit of the Community Award


Jen & Baz Egglestone (Durham Tigers)

Michelle Scott (Whitley Bay Barbarians)

Chloe Bell (Gateshead Storm)


Referee Of The Year


Adam Houston

Gavin Houston

Jordan Robinson



Volunteer Of The Year


Steve Lamb (Cramlington Rockets)

Goeff & Michelle Hurst (Gateshead Storm)

Rob Jones (Gateshead Storm)

Toby Bell (Whitley Bay Barbarians)

Emma Smith (Catterick Crusaders)

Helen Taylor (Peterlee Pumas)


Junior Coach Of The Year


Alan Stevenson (Wallsend Eagles U16’s)

Christian Button (Catterick Crusaders U12’s)

Jordan Robinson (Cramlington Rockets U16’s Black)

Phil Shaw (Yarm Woves U14’s)

Ieuan Bodman (Gateshead Storm U14’s)

Sharon McCoy (Whitley Bay Barbarians)


Men’s Coach Of The Year


Stephen Bradley (Wallsend Eagles)

George Taylor (Jarrow Vikings)

Dave Townend (Cramlington Rockets)

Jason Grant (Catterick Crusaders)


Young Player Of The Year


Jared Poole (Catterick Crusaders)

James McGurk (Jarrow Vikings)

Jack Redfern (Cramlington Rockets)

James Cook (Durham Demons)

Alex Coxon (Peterlee Pumas)


Player Of The Year


Louis Platt (Cramlington Rockets)

Derick Worthington (Jarrow Vikings)

Neil Emmerson (Gateshead Storm)

Marc Willey (Durham Demons)

Austin Phillips (Wallsend Eagles)



U12’s Player Of The Year


Joe Dunham (Cramlington Rockets)

Bryce Dixon (Whitley Bar Barbarians)

Finlay Wilkinson (Cramlington Rockets)

Xander Connelly (Catterick Crusaders)

Lewis Urwin (Gateshead Storm)


U14’s Player Of The Year


Dan O'Rielly (Catterick Crusaders)

Elliot Shaw (Yarm Wolves)

Jake Anderson (Gateshead Storm)

Cameron Young (Whitley Bay Barbarians)

Tyler Hepple (Gateshead Storm)


U16 Player Of The Year


Tyler Walton (Wallsend Eagles)

Will Todd (Durham Tigers)

Nathan Clemmitt (Cramlington Rockets)

Rupart Civil (Catterick Crusaders)

Alex Donaghy (Cramlington Rockets)

Matthew Hurst (Gateahead Storm)

North East Rugby League Awards Night Shortlists Revealed